Game Diary: Bravely Default, Oquonie, The Walking Dead: Season 2

March 16, 2014

Either I fall in love with a JRPG and see it through until the very bitter, final-final ending (I mean, how could you be satisfied with just the “good” ending of a game instead of the “ultimate final ending” after logging 50+ hours) or immediately lose interest and invest less than a couple hours.

For example, I meant to simply investigate Persona 3 and 4: The Golden last year, only to find myself 100 hours later and deep into Monad or chasing the “true ending,” respectively. (I even researched whether some spoiler-ific plot twists were unavoidable or not, some of which have insane answers that require another play-through in new game+.) Then on the other hand, there’s the widely acclaimed Tales of the Abyss on 3DS that I failed to connect with after several contrived dialogue scenes, uninteresting battle tutorials, and JRPG stereotypes later.

Bravely Default
Bravely Default
falls squarely into the Persona category, where even though I just started with the goals of merely completing it, I now find myself mired in a grind-fest to party perfection, leaving no Asterisk unturned or job path unfinished. The battle mechanics require you to reinvent your strategies often, and the story is surprisingly interesting too. Instead of racing through, I’m going to relax and enjoy a long play-through, well past the 55 hours I’ve already clocked.

Screen Shot 2014-03-16 at 6.14.50 PM

Not everything can be all experience- and job-point farming, so I’m playing through some less time-intensive works too.

Oquonie (iOS)

I’m not even going to pretend that I understand this game (yet?). I think there’s one sentence (which in Oquonie is a series of three detailed hieroglyphics) that I comprehend, and I’m not sure what I’m trying to achieve aside from exploring and gathering three matching symbols from the world’s increasingly odd inhabitants. Feels like a monochromatic hand-drawn version of Fez taking place in an M.C. Escher painting. Although after reading the game’s site, I feel like I have to side with them in that Oquonie is best described as “Animal Crossing in a K-Hole”.

Mangia (web browser)

A well-written and very expressive Twine on what it’s like to live with an eating disorder. Having recently weathered a big health shake-up that immensely altered my lifestyle and diet, I found this resonated with me on many levels. You should also try the developer’s other games because they’re super great.

The Walking Dead: Season 2 (halfway through Episode 2)

Almost every exchange so far:

NPC: This sounds totally crazy, but here’s how we should approach the situation.

Me: This doesn’t seem like a good idea. Can I get another option?

NPC: Nah, it’ll be fine.

Me: I’m not comfortable with this.

NPC: No, no, this is how we should approach this problem.

Me: I still disagree but ok…

NPC: How could that have gone so badly?! Aw, things are all messed up now! How are we going to get out alive?!

Me: :|

Leave a Reply

